After Auschwitz: a story of heartbreak and survival by the stepsister of Anne Frank, by Eva Schloss, narrated by Ann Dover

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

after-auschwitz-001We were in Amsterdam last year, and had the opportunity to go to the Anne Frank Museum, but I didn’t want to go.  I had read the diary when I was a teenager and re-read it some time in my twenties, and I still remember it vividly.  I did not think that visiting the house could contribute anything to my awareness of this life cut short by the Holocaust, and I didn’t like the idea of tramping through it with the inevitable horde of tourists.

But I was intrigued when I saw amongst the audio books at my local library: After Auschwitz: a story of heartbreak and survival by the stepsister of Anne Frank.  Anne Frank died in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp aged 15 and I knew from the diary that she did not have a stepsister.  How could this be?

The answer is that Elfriede (Fritzi)  Geiringer, the mother of the author Eva Schloss, married Anne…

View original post 887 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Reblogs

Leave a Reply

