David Albert pans Lawrence Krauss’s new book

Why Evolution Is True

I have a confession.  I was not keen on Lawrence Krauss’s new book on the origin of the universe, A Universe from Nothing: Why there is Something Rather Than Nothing. I couldn’t share the chorus of approbation and acclaim for the book, and wondered if I, as opposed to everyone else, was blind to its merits. (Let me hasten to add that I am a big fan of Krauss’s public lectures, and also that I haven’t read any of his other books.)

I found A Universe from Nothing awkwardly written and poorly explained; indeed, in places I felt completely at sea, and had to reread bits of it several times to figure out what he was trying to say.  Even then some of it baffled me, and since I have a Ph.D. and have read a fair amount of popular physics literature, I figured this must have been a case…

View original post 2,050 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Reblogs

One response to “David Albert pans Lawrence Krauss’s new book

  1. I have to say I agree with Coyne. Although there was a lot in the book of great interest, the whole thing read as if it had been thrown together in a hurry — perhaps dictated rather than written, with maybe a pre-existing essay or three squashed in where they might go. The book grossly needed the attention of a competent editor, and I’m at a loss to explain why such a high-profile publication didn’t get that.

    There are lectures by Krauss on YouTube that actually explain things better, I think, than the book does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

