Vale to the man who taught me to love books

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

My dear old dad died today.  He almost made it to his 92nd birthday.

It was my dad who nurtured my love of books.  He read stories to me when I was little.  Wherever we lived in the world, he took me to the local library.  He gave me books for Christmas and birthdays.  He introduced me to the great writers of the 20th century.

We spent a lifetime talking about books together and he was still talking about the books we loved just last week.  If ever you’ve enjoyed chatting about books here on this blog, then please raise a toast to the wonderful man who was the catalyst behind every word I’ve ever written here.

He taught me to be stoic too, so the show goes on….

View original post

Leave a comment

Filed under Reblogs

Leave a Reply

