2017 Rare Books Week

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

I’ve had a lovely day today, the first of many adventures with Rare Books Week for 2017.  (I hope.  I have signed up for a whole lot of events, but I did that before I mushed my shoulder so it remains to be seen whether I will have the stamina to go to all of them.)

I started off at the Boyd Community Hub with a session called Johnson and Boswell, Holmes and Watson.  The presenter was John Byrne who is president of the Johnson society and who proved his credentials by (a) donning his Oxford cap and scarf and (b) then producing a deerstalker hat à la Sherlock Holmes.  He told us that his professional interest is Samuel Johnson and Boswell who wrote his biography,  but that Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson are for fun…

Byrne reminded us that there are plenty of famous couples in the world of literature and also…

View original post 1,052 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Reblogs

Leave a Reply

