Smoke in the Valley, 1948–51 by David Kynaston (2007)

Books & Boots

David Kynaston (b.1951) has written about 16 history books on broadly three topics: cricket, the City of London, and Britain after the Second World War. His post-war histories have been published as three volumes, each of which – rather confusingly – contained two books:

  • Austerity Britain, 1945–51 (2007) containing:
    • A World to Build, 1945–48
    • Smoke in the Valley, 1948–51
  • Family Britain, 1951–57 (2009)
    • The Certainties of Place, 1951-5
    • A Thicker Cut, 1955-57
  • Modernity Britain, 1957–62 (2014) which contained:
    • Opening the Box, 1957–59
    • A Shake of the Dice, 1959–62

This is a review, or notes on, book two of volume one, Austerity Britain: Smoke in The Valley, which covers the years 1948 to 1951 i.e. from the inauguration of the National Health Service on 5 July 1948 to Labour’s defeat in the October 1951 general election.

In 1940 Somerset Maugham published a collection of short stories titled The Mixture As…

View original post 2,157 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Reblogs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s